Governors / Llywodraethwyr

It is the duty of the Governing Body to make decisions about how the school is run. Governors have legal duties, powers and responsibilities as a body but cannot act individually.

The Governing Body believe the aims of the school as set out in this Prospectus should continue to be pursued. Underpinning these aims is Blaenbaglan’s philosophy, that all our pupils are entitled to the very best education possible, which the school endeavours to provide, in close partnership with parents.
Each term the following sub-committees meet and report back to the main Governing Body meeting:
  • Finance and Staffing
  • Curriculum and Additional Learning Needs (ALN)
  • Buildings, Premises, Health & Safety (H&S) and Community
  • School performance and attendance
  • Performance management
Other issues relating to the budget, pupil activities, school performance and the Learning Support Centre are discussed. They can only act together, not individually. Parent Governors are elected by the parents of the school. They serve, as do other governors, for a period of 4 years. Parent Governors bring the views of parents to the governing body. However, they are not delegates for parents, as they speak and act as individuals.
Click below to read the latest Governors’ report to parents:
Information on requesting a parents meeting with governors:
Governing Body Governors Appointed by Term of Office Ends Committee Member
Mrs P. Short Community


02.12.23 Curriculum/ALN, Safeguarding, Finance & Staffing/ PM
Cllr. S. Renkes LA 30.08.25 Premises/H&S, Finance & Staffing /PM
Cllr. P. Richards LA

(Vice Chair)

01.09.24 Finance & Staffing
Mr. B. Henderson Community

(ALN Gov)

10.11.24 Finance & Staffing, Curriculum/ALN
Mrs. G. Cox Parent 09.02.24 Curriculum/ALN
Mr. M. Rees Parent Curriculum/ALN
Mrs. E. Palmer Teacher 26.09.25 Curriculum/ALN
Mr. I. Rees LA 31.21.25 Premises/H&S
Mr. P. Morris Parent 12.05.23 Premises/H&S
Mr. Y. Maljian Community 10.11.25 Premises/H&S
Mrs. H. Griffiths Parent 08.12.25 Premises/H&S
Mr. T. Drinkwater Non teacher Premises/H&S
Mr. D. C. Burrows Headteacher All
Clerk to the Governors Miss Gemma Allen

The Governors can be contacted at:

Blaenbaglan Primary School , Maes-Ty-Canol, Baglan, Port Talbot . SA12 8YF.                    Tel: 01639 769775 e-mail: